Failed States 2011
7 LightJet color photographs on matte paper
76 x 114 cm ea.

A photographic documentation of an action, where the body is employed as a geopolitical metaphor ultimately subdued to its immediate context.

G-7 is a group of industrialized countries whose political, economic and military clout is globally relevant. The group is comprised by Germany, Canada, USA, France, Italy, Japan and the UK. The G-7 was established in March 1973, when, at the request of George Shultz, the Secretary of the U.S. Treasury at the time, met with the finance ministers of the United States, Japan, West Germany, France and the UK. Italy was included in the group in 1975, at the summit in the Château de Rambouilletin in France. Canada joined the group two years later, in 1977, at the summit in the Dorado Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico.


Failed States 2011 
Photo Credit: Pedro Castillo Lopez